More important than service…

I realize that it has been a few months since I posted on my poor little blog… Summer has been busy and full–but it has been a good summer.

Lately because of my brother’s recommendation, I’ve been spending a lot of time in the Gospels. Yesterday I was in Luke 10, and revisited a familiar story.

Now it came to pass, as they went, that he entered into a certain village: and a certain woman named Martha received him into her house.

And she had a sister called Mary, which also sat at Jesus’ feet, and heard his word.

But Martha was cumbered about much serving, and came to him, and said, Lord, dost thou not care that my sister hath left me to serve alone? bid her therefore that she help me.

And Jesus answered and said unto her, Martha, Martha, thou art careful and troubled about many things:

But one thing is needful: and Mary hath chosen that good part, which shall not be taken away from her. Luke 10: 38-42

After I read it, I realized something dreadful.

I’ve become Martha.

Every time I’ve read that story, I’ve judged Martha and thought, “She had Jesus right there in her house–what was she doing not basking in His presence?!” But I realize, that’s what I’ve done. This summer I’ve had a lot of opportunity for ministry, all of which has blessed me so much. I’ve been to a few different seminars/conferences and learned a lot. It’s all been good.

But…

I’ve become so busy in service and ministry that I haven’t made the time to just sit at the feet of Jesus and worship Him. Just to sit in awe of Him and listen to what He has to say. I feel I’ve done a lot of talking to Him lately, but how much listening have I done lately?

“Grace, Grace, you are careful and troubled about many things: But one thing is needful: and Mary has chosen that good part, which shall not be taken away from her.”

That’s what I want, to be a Mary again. To be one that sits at the feet of God and just listens. One whose  focus is steadfast on the Master…one whose heart is full of worship.

“Be still,” He calls, “and know that I am God.”

“Be still, my little “Martha-Grace”…be still. Sit at My feet and listen.”

Well friend, that’s all for now… By God’s grace, this coming week will be much different. Don’t be a Martha, take time, real time (more than 5 minutes) to just bask in the presence of our Lord. He has so much He longs to show and teach us, and He will fill you up so that He may pour you out in service to others. And trust me, your service will have a far greater impact when you worship first.

Are you a Martha, or a Mary?

Crucified with Christ,

Grace

Gal. 2:20, Ps. 16:11

4 thoughts on “More important than service…

  1. Oh Grace, you’ll never guess which passage I read today, and was convicted by today! Yes, it was Luke 10:38-40. And now I read your post, and God speaks to my heart and says, “Rest. Rest in Me. Come to Me, all who labor and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest. Sit at My feet, and hear My word. Abide in Me. You shall find rest for your soul.”
    I join you Grace! I join you in becoming a Mary! I join you in becoming a passionate lover of our Lord Jesus Christ! There is no greater thing than to hear Him and abide in Him….to know Him, and to love Him.
    Thank you, thank you for these thoughts!!
    All my love,
    Kate
    For in His presence is FULLNESS of joy………..

    • Oh Kate, thank you so much for sharing that! How neat that He would give us the same message (not that this is the first time this has happened!).
      I am so glad you are joining me in this–what a blessing that I do not walk this road alone. Yes, let us rest and abide in Him, and hear His voice!
      Love you, sweet sister!
      -Grace

  2. Grace, my friend!
    Thank you so much for your words! God used them to convict me of the same busy, hurried attitude. How I need to be still and know that He is God; not just read His Word and spend time in prayer, but truly abide in His presence. It is there alone that fullness of joy is found!
    Pursuing the heart of Mary with you!
    Love you, sister!
    Baylie

Leave a Reply

