New Beginning :)

I sit here in our front living room in the quiet of a house in which most have gone to bed. The light from the Christmas tree casts a warm, inviting glow about the room, it beckons me to come and sit a while. Ah, this room holds so many memories…

Thanks to the encouragement of a friend, I will brush the dust and cobwebs off this old blog and attemp to write again… I do miss writing here.

It is strange to me coming back here after two years to post again… reading through some of the posts, I almost feel it were another person. How strange it is to look at your past self. I am not entirely different, no… but sometimes I feel that these past two years have aged me a good deal. I have grown a lot, questioned and learned so many things. I have cried many tears and made mistakes I never dreamed I would. I have embarked on the adventure of becoming a midwife. I have lived in another country for a month. I have lost people and friendships and made new ones.

But through everything, God has remained faithful. He is so good to me. I would’ve given up on me a long time ago, but He doesn’t. Like the story of the prodigal son, the Father always welcomes me back, running to me with open arms.

It has been a crazy season of life, friend. And as humbling as some of things I’ve been through have been, I don’t think I would change any of it. Does not our Lord use all for good to those that love Him?

One of the highlights of this time has definitely been midwifery training… I have fallen in love with the process of pregnancy and birth, amazed at what our bodies are capable of, and blown away by the strength of the women I have watched and assisted give birth. It is such a privilege to be invited into such and intimate and sacred part of a woman’s life. I have rejoiced with many mothers after a successful delivery, comforted those that did not have the birth they planned, and wept with one mom as she held her 17 week old miscarried son in her hands. So much imprinted on my mind forever.

Midwifery is raw. Real. It isn’t glamorous most of the time… It’s sweaty, bloody, and messy. It’s real people that get stretch marks and have lives that aren’t perfect. It’s me stumbling out the door at 2am headed to a birth looking like a disaster, and coming home wiped out but with a full heart. And it’s watching the mom as she transforms from the sheer pain of labor to the complete joy of having her child in her arms in only  a moment – something I know I will never tire of seeing. I’ll stop on this subject for now, but I am sure it is something I shall write a great deal more on. 🙂

Ah… it’s 2017. How ever did that happen?…. I wonder what this year will hold for me. I am determined to be content in whatever lot I am given, and live the fullest I can where the Lord has placed me. And more than anything, that I may know Him more. Oh… There is such excitement in a fresh new year. 🙂 

I did not intend to just ramble on about things…. I’ll leave you with the last verse I read last year, and the one I’m clinging to right now – 

“Therefore if any man be in Christ, he is a new creature: old things are passed away; behold, all things are become new.” 2 Corinthians 5:17

That makes me smile. So much freedom in that. We are made new in Christ.

So here’s to a new year, renewed in Christ. May He freshen your zeal and devotion to Him… may we truly say the words of Elisabeth Elliot – “I have one desire now – to live a life of reckless abandon for the Lord, putting all my energy and strength into it.”

-Grace 🙂

2 thoughts on “New Beginning :)

Leave a Reply

